Endowment Honoring Dr. Tonya Oaks Smith

Donate today to fund Annual Conference scholarships.

Support Tonya’s legacy of leadership

With your help, we can reach our goal to offer Annual Conference scholarships in 2024.

Buy HighEdWeb Y’all T-shirt

This promotion ended Oct. 2023. A new apparel offering is planned for January 2024. Please check back.

Amount raised toward $25,000 goal0%

About Dr. Tonya Oaks Smith

Dr. Tonya Oaks Smith was a long-time member of the HighEdWeb community, and passed away in April 2023 after a brief illness. Over the years, Tonya served in a variety of Association leadership roles, including as Annual and Regional Conference chair, volunteer lead, Sponsorship Committee lead, presenter, and parliamentarian and member of the HighEdWeb Board of Directors.

In those roles, as well as throughout her career as a higher education communication leader, Tonya’s hallmark was a generous spirit and a fierce dedication to mentoring and supporting future leaders. Now, HighEdWeb is pleased to honor Tonya’s legacy with an endowment that will carry her vision far into the future.

Tonya Oaks Smith as part of a panel discussion.
Tonya on stage during the 2014 conference showing off her famous note to self: “Don’t Curse!”

Thank you to our donors!

The HighEdWeb community is one of the best around. These champions have already given to the fund:

  • Sven Aas
  • Ronald Agrella
  • Charise Alexander Adams
  • Aaron Baker
  • Waylon Baumgardner
  • The Benevity Community Impact Fund
  • Christine Boehler
  • Ashley Budd
  • Colleen Brennan-Barry
  • Joshua Charles
  • Kathleen Callahan
  • Sara Clark
  • Christy Cousino
  • Chris D'Orso
  • Dblass
  • Glenn E. Donaldson Jr.
  • Elizabeth Gross
  • Karen M. Hackett
  • Brian Heaton
  • Mike Henderson
  • HumansGoneWWW
  • Aaron Knight
  • Scott Kubie
  • Michelle LoGerfo
  • Mona Maharjan
  • Mark A Nakamura
  • Nikki Massaro Kauffman
  • Andrea Mostyn
  • Jamie Newman
  • David Olsen
  • Dr. Carrie Phillips
  • Ben Rapin
  • Maryann Reissig
  • Audrey Romano
  • Matthew Ryan
  • Danielle Sewell
  • Jon-Stephen Stansel
  • Dave Tyler
  • Melissa Van De Werfhorst
  • John Wagner
  • Terry Watson
  • White Whale Web Services, Inc.
  • Tom and Tina Wojciechowski