Annual Conference Committee


The Annual Conference Committee plans and implements the annual conference. It oversees and supports the Program Subcommittee and Academies Subcommittee.


The committee has no expressed or implied power or authority.


  • The board shall appoint the chair and members of the committee.
  • The operations director shall serve as staff to the committee.
  • The vice president serves as the board liaison. The board liaison is a non-voting member of the committee.
  • The committee may include non-director persons whose experience may assist the committee in the performance of its duties.

2021 Annual Conference Committee members

  • Colleen Brennan-Barry, conference chair
  • Tom Wojciechowski, conference vice chair
  • Aaron Knight, board liaison
  • Lori Packer, program subcommittee chair
  • Sara Clark, operations director
  • Veronica Adinegara, designer
  • Christine Boehler, sponsorship communications coordinator
  • David Dashifen Kees, safety, inclusion and accessibility lead
  • Bri Diaz, content coordinator
  • Glenn Donaldson, volunteer coordinator
  • Cathy Donnelly, events and premiums coordinator
  • Mike Henderson, AV and livestream lead
  • Melissa Lesica, marketing and communications lead
  • Andrea Mostyn, attendee relations lead
  • Jeff Sechler, video lead
  • Eric Sembrat, web coordinator
  • Danielle Sewell, registration coordinator
  • Andy Shearouse, program vice chair
  • Jon-Stephen Stansel, social media coordinator
  • Rachell Underhill, conference platform coordinator
  • Joe Vugteveen, sponsorship lead
  • Jason Woodward, technology lead

2021 Program Subcommittee members

  • Lori Packer, chair
  • Andy Shearouse, program vice chair
  • Sven Aas, track/room host
  • Dan Chase, track/room host
  • Janice Cheng McConnell, track/room host
  • Paul Gilzow, track/room host
  • Sarah Maxell Crosby, track/room host
  • Lacy Paschal, track/room host
  • Aaron Rester, track/room host
  • Jeff Stevens, track/room host
  • Michelle Tarby, track/room host
  • Doug Tschopp, track/room host
  • John Wagner, track/room host

2022 Annual Conference Committee members

  • Andrea Mostyn, chair
  • Janice Cheng-McConnell, vice chair
  • Aaron Knight, board liaison
  • Andy Shearouse, program subcommittee chair
  • Doug Tschopp, program subcommittee vice chair
  • Sara Clark, operations director

2021 Goals

Minimum targets

  • 400 attendees
  • $75,000 sponsor revenue
  • $75,000 profit
  • At least one-third of committee members would be new Annual Conference volunteers.
  • 200 submitted proposals from at least 100 unique presenters
  • 25% of presenters are first-time presenters

Additional objectives

  • Use a data-informed model to set an affordable registration price (no more than $295).
  • Offer discounted registration to paid members (up to $50 discount).
  • Offer full registration waivers to all presenters.
  • Allow attendees to opt-in to sharing their contact information (name, role, institution, email address) with sponsors at time of registration.
  • No more than 1000 attendees.
  • At least 75% of the attendees are engaged both days of the event.
  • Increase opportunities and incentives for attendees to share their contact information with sponsors.
  • Lay the foundation for evolving into a hybrid model for 2022 and beyond.
  • Continue anonymous review process for proposals. Evaluate proposals based on school location, size, and other relevant factors.


  • Manages the budget of the annual conference.
  • Creates and implements logistical plan for annual conference.
  • Evaluates and selects social event locations.
  • Coordinates with venues and vendors on conference needs.
  • Selects keynote(s) for annual conference.
  • Provides superior professional development.
  • Develops and maintains conference website content and code.
  • Manages and promotes registration.
  • Solicits and supports sponsors.
  • Supports attendees, before, during and after the conference.
  • Coordinates AV needs, including editing recordings for membership community.

Program Subcommittee responsibilities

  • Coordinates and promotes call for proposals.
  • Reviews and selects proposals for each track with a goal of providing a balanced program in terms of topic areas covered and further increasing diversity (new vs veteran presenters, underrepresented groups, etc.)
  • Promotes presenters and the program as a whole (writing Link articles to describe and promote each track, participating in discussions and sharing conference content on social media, etc.).
  • Mentors presenters on what will be needed at the conference to help make them as successful as possible.
  • Staffs tracks at annual conference, including introducing speakers, assisting with AV as needed, assisting with audience Q&A, and ensuring sessions begin and end on time.
  • Ensures evaluations are submitted by session attendees.
  • Advises prospective presenters to other volunteer opportunities with the association (i.e., writing for LINK, serving on a committee)


  • Meets no fewer than 10 times per year, at the call of the chair of the committee/subcommittee.
  • Maintains minutes of all meetings.
  • Manages email inboxes for the events.
  • Reviews this charter annually and recommends changes to the board of directors.
  • Follows association policies and procedures.
  • Establishes and maintains documentation about committee roles and procedures, including how this committee collaborates with others.
  • Communicates and collaborates with other committees and board of directors to accomplish association goals.
  • Provides quarterly updates to the board of directors.