HighEdWeb appoints new President, Executive Committee

The Higher Education Web Professionals Association (HighEdWeb) is pleased to announce its new 2014-15 Executive Committee:

President Colleen Brennan-Barry

Colleen Brennan-Barry (Monroe Community College, Rochester, N.Y.) is immediate past vice president of HighEdWeb and has served the Association in a variety of roles, including marketing and community relations chair, member of the Annual Conference committee, and HighEdWeb Rochester Regional Conference chairperson. Colleen has been a member of the Board of Directors since 2009.

Vice President Sven Aas

Sven Aas (Mount Holyoke College, South Hadley, Mass.) has served on the HighEdWeb Board of Directors since 2013. Sven has been an active member of the Annual Conference program committee, has acted as chairperson of the HighEdWeb New England Regional Conference, and serves as co-chair of the HighEdWeb technical committee.

Secretary Patti Fantaske

Patti Fantaske (Pennsylvania State University, University Park, Penn.) joined the Board of Directors in 2010. Patti has held a variety of roles on the Annual Conference committee including on-site registration coordinator, and serves on the HighEdWeb membership committee.

Treasurer Dale Grady

Dale Grady (Rochester, N.Y.) is a founding member of HighEdWeb.  Dale has been a member of the Annual Conference committee, a conference presenter, has spearheaded a number of key HighEdWeb initiatives, and is a past president of the Association.


Immediate Past President Michael Hostad (University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee) will continue as a member of the Board of Directors in the role of president emeritus.


The Executive Committee is selected from the HighEdWeb Board of Directors, the governing body of the Association. The Board works to create and manage policy, coordinate business issues, and manage the growth and prosperity of HighEdWeb. The Board meets monthly to discuss updates and issues, and works to lead various Association initiatives year-round. Currently the Board is engaged in a comprehensive strategic planning process for HighEdWeb and all of its properties. The HighEdWeb Board of Directors:

  • Colleen Brennan-Barry, president
  • Sven Aas, vice president
  • Patti Fantaske, secretary
  • Dale Grady, treasurer
  • Michael Hostad, president emeritus
  • Sara Clark (Missouri State University, Springfield, Mo.)
  • Seth Meranda (Concordia University, Seward, Neb.)
  • Tonya Oaks Smith (Henderson State University, Arkadelphia, Ark.)

HighEdWeb anticipates a call for new directors to join the Board to take place this Fall 2014.


Published by

Colleen Brennan-Barry

Colleen Brennan-Barry (@ColB) is president of the Higher Education Web Professionals Association, serves on the conference committee for the HighEdWeb Annual Conference, and is the Assistant Director in charge of Web Communications at Monroe Community College in Rochester, NY.